Stopping aggressive behavior early

tiapet

In the Brooder
6 Years
Apr 30, 2013
Ocean View, Hawaii
So I'm completely new to chickens. I have 2 black ausrtolorps and 4 Wyandottes that are now 6 weeks old. One of the black ones has been attacking me every time I put my hand in with them. It is really starting to hurt and get extremely annoying. All the others are friendly and sweet. How do I change this behavior? Can you punish a chicken? My daughter would never forgive me if I ate her ;)

SobbaChickens

Songster
6 Years
Apr 24, 2013
Kansas
lol I'm not sure, squirt her with a water bottle? Flick her on the beak? My mom use to squirt my brother with water when he'd bug her lol I do it to my cats when they get in trouble

Katie

tiapet

In the Brooder
6 Years
Apr 30, 2013
Ocean View, Hawaii
Got some great advice by asking around. If you don't want to fight your chicken every time, just assert your dominance in a way they understand and don't take as a stand off. Roosters push hens to the ground to show dominance. I did this once after she grabbed me hard and held her there gently for a few seconds. Then I let her up and gave her some cuddles. She hasn't pecked at me since. She's just as sweet as the rest now and everyone seems to have mellowed a bit :) SOOOO happy!!!

Haunted55

Songster
7 Years
Feb 15, 2012
Central Maine
Got some great advice by asking around. If you don't want to fight your chicken every time, just assert your dominance in a way they understand and don't take as a stand off. Roosters push hens to the ground to show dominance. I did this once after she grabbed me hard and held her there gently for a few seconds. Then I let her up and gave her some cuddles. She hasn't pecked at me since. She's just as sweet as the rest now and everyone seems to have mellowed a bit
smile.png
SOOOO happy!!!