Store Bought Incubator vs Broody Hen

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by CheshieChick13, Jul 6, 2010.

1. CheshieChick13

CheshieChick13 Chillin' With My Peeps

I went to TSC and bought one of those still air incubators. I am still up in the air as whether I should use my broody to hatch the eggs I have on the way or this over priced piece of styrofoam [​IMG]

I have a silkie hen that is brooding on 8 duds. She has been brooding for approximately the last ten days, and to my dismay all the eggs were duds (I have a roo still trying to get the hang of things [​IMG] ). From what most have told me I should have no problems with such a dedicated momma, trading the duds for fertile eggs. My hen is eating and drinking well given her circumstances, so I am not really worried about her keeling over.

So if you had these two options, which would you use and why?

This is my first time hatching eggs.....so I am full of questions [​IMG]

Thanks
    ~Steph

Last edited: Jul 6, 2010
  2. they'reHISchickens

they'reHISchickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 31, 2008
    Reading
    How many do you have coming? Maybe you should split them. Give Ms Broody a few and hatch the rest. Of course if it's your very first try with an incubator, I'd go for the broody. IMO her instinct trumps your lack of practice.

3. CheshieChick13

they'reHISchickens :

IMO her instinct trumps your lack of practice.

[​IMG]
    LMAO! Well put, well put!​

4. vaiger

vaiger Out Of The Brooder

Jun 27, 2010
    Ditto. My first hatch with the TSC still air incubator was a flop. I learned what "counting your chickens before they hatch" meant. Ignore the instructions and follow the info on this board instead. With still air, you need to be just a little warmer if you are taking temparature readings on top of the eggs. Also, humidity is a huge factor. The water trays were not enough and I had to add damp sponges to get the humitity up.