Storm warning

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by sunshynertc, Dec 9, 2014.

1. sunshynertc

sunshynertc Out Of The Brooder

Sep 1, 2014
    California
    I am not sure where this question should go.
    Firstly I am in California so when I say "a storm" it is not a snow storm, it is suppose to be 60 mile an hour winds and lost of rain. In the last storm we had (last week) I had to go and rescue 7 of my hens due to the structures getting destroyed by the winds. I had the mother hen and the 2 month old pullets in one enclosure that was destroyed by the storm. In the chicken tractor I had a hen that is new to the flock and two other hens that are not aggressive to her

The last storm we had destroyed the shelter for the pullets and the chicken tractor is not storm ready. If I put all the hens in the coop but separate in large cages for the storm -- the weather shows the winds are suppose to last most of Thursday. I am somewhat new to having chickens and I am not prepared for the storm. They free range so they have access to food outside the coop. I am not sure how to manage giving them food and water if I separate them. Can they last a few hours with some water and a little food? I don't have enough water sources for the hens if I separate them like this.

Suggestions would be good.

2. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe True BYC Addict

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    You can use any clean container for water.
    Chickens can live outside without any help from us but a water source is a must.
    The problem without shelter is predators. If it weren't for predators they wouldn't really need coops.

3. sunshynertc

Sep 1, 2014
    California
    Don't they need shelter from the storm though?

Last edited: Dec 9, 2014
  4. lazy gardener

lazy gardener True BYC Addict

Nov 7, 2012
    CENTRAL MAINE
    Yes, I would always provide them with shelter, whether it's storming or not.

1 person likes this.
  5. ChickenCanoe

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO