Straight niacin or brewers yeast

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Y-Knot, Feb 17, 2015.

1. Y-Knot

Y-Knot Out Of The Brooder

Dec 12, 2014
    Loma Rica, CA
    Hello everyone. I'm sure a lot you know the answer to this but I am fairly new to ducks and want to make sure they get the best care possible.
    If it best to use pure niacin or brewers yeast? Also, how much should I give the ducks?
    Thanks for the help.

2. buff goose guy

buff goose guy Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 9, 2014
    Mississippi Y'all
    @Amiga should be able to help i think she knows about niacin

3. tdd2

tdd2 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 14, 2014
    SEPA, USA
    Brewers yeast is best - niacin cannot be overdosed using brewers yeast, but you CAN overdose the ducklings on B vitamins using a concentrated source, such as a vitamin capsule.

Typically, a teaspoon full sprinkled on their feed each day is sufficient.

Hope that helps!

Dan

4. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    Here are my thoughts on niacin - Storey's Guide recommends 100 to 150 mg niacin per gallon of drinking water to address niacin deficiency in ducklings.

Holderread also mentions brewer's yeast.

Brewer's yeast has more than niacin in it - and while I have not seen studies about this, so I am guessing, seems to me that brewer's yeast may provide better all-around nutritional boost since it has more types of nutrients in it.

At the same time, we are making some estimates when it comes to dosage for brewer's yeast.

I did some calculations based on labels on brewer's yeast, and came up with this:

Okay, two tablespoons of brewer's yeast contains 10 mg of niacin, based on this page http://nutritiondata.self.com/facts/custom/1323569/2