Strained Esophogas???

Nancy P

In the Brooder
Apr 16, 2016
I am pretty new to raising chickens. My 5 month old Dominique pullet has a strange lump on her throat. At first I thought she had a bad crop so I did what was suggested to me and put her in a cage by herself and gave her 2 caplets of Dulcolax with 1cc of apple sauce. I did that for 2 days and the lump didn't go down. In fact I have been told that the lump is on the wrong side of her throat for it to be her crop and to high up. So then I thought maybe Cocidiiosis and gave her medicine for that with no significant improvement. Today I went to TSC to find some other antibiotic. The man told me to give her electrolytes. She has only been eating what I put in her beak. I have attached a picture. If anyone knows what is wrong with my poor little chicken please tell me what to do. I don't really want to think of the next step if she doesn't start eating. Thanks

I think I figured it out. I think she developed Wry Neck. I have given her Vitamin E and a vitamin. she is eatting again and drinking the electorlite water. Thanks for your help,

Does the area on her left upper chest feel firm or does it feel like air under the skin? Sometimes chickens can get injured around the neck and chest, and develop a leaking air sac under the skin. That can displace the neck. Very rarely, tumors can appear in the same spot. Is she moving her neck around, up and down, or side to side at all?

Thank you for helping. The spot is hard. It feels like there are ridges when I rub it. She has not been moving her neck very much. I think it is Wry Neck. I brought her in the garage tonight and scrambled her an egg with Vit. E in it and a multivitamin ( I couldn't find any Selenium). I also gave her about 8 cc of Sav-a-Chick Electrolyte water. I was surprised that she gobbled up most of the egg. I'll find out in the morning if there's any improvement. I think there will be. Thanks again for helping.