Strange Behavior with my chicks!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Nut Lemon, Jul 9, 2010.

1. Nut Lemon

Nut Lemon Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 9, 2010
    Mid- Coast Maine
    Hi, I'm very new to chickens, so I have a question about the behavior of one of my chicks. Louise is a White-Crested Black Polish chick she is a female too. She is only about 3-5 days old. Nugget is a "purple" silkie. It was an accident, and one of it's parents is blue and one is red. We do not know the sex of it. We think that Nugget is about 2 weeks old. But both of these chicks do the same thing. They open their mouths for about 1 second, then close it. Why do they do this??? I live in Maine, but it has been pretty hot here. It has been 90+ degrees. If any of that info helps or if you need more info, i'll be checking this. But the ultimate question is Why do they open their mouths??? Is it because of the heat???

Thanks,
    Nut Lemon

Last edited: Jul 9, 2010
  2. Nut Lemon

Jul 9, 2010
    Mid- Coast Maine
    oh, and they open their mouths at random times when they are standing still.

3. Oven Ready

Oven Ready Chillin' With My Peeps

May 9, 2010
    Thailand
    Like a yawn? I have no idea what it is but ours all do it as well. Maybe it is a yawn.
    It's almost like they are bored and they think "What will I do now? Yeah, I know, I'll open my mouth that'll be so cool"

More serious though...
    There is a parasite called a GapeWorm that can make them gape but they should also show signs like shaking their head, making noises when breathing and gasping rather than 'yawning'. 3-5 days old would be too young in my opinion and I don't think it's a very common worm anyway. Medication called Flubenvet used to be the solution to this but I'm not sure it's available in the US anymore - perhaps someone from the US will confirm or correct me.

4. Nut Lemon

Jul 9, 2010
    Mid- Coast Maine