Strange Bleeding??

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by allisonbronwyn, Jan 8, 2015.

1. allisonbronwyn

allisonbronwyn New Egg

Jan 8, 2015
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Hello! I'm new to Backyardchickens, but I've had chickens for about seven or so years now. This is the first time I've ever had this happen, but I'm hoping someone will be able to explain it for me!

A couple days ago I smelled a terrible smell in the coop that smelled like something died. I looked around and didn't see anything and all the chickens looked fine, there was nothing dead anywhere I could see. The next day though, the smell was still there and one of my hens, a perfectly healthy White Leghorn hen, whose neck feathers were completely pink! Of course, I thought it was blood so I picked her up but there were no wounds or gashes where blood could come from, and her feathers weren't wet. She seemed fine, so I let her go. Two days passed and the smell got worse, and today the hen was dripping blood all from her head and neck. We have a couple roosters, so I figured it was just that, but when I picked her up again I noticed she still had all her feathers (they were just thinned with blood) and once again, there was no wound where blood could come from! It seemed to be dripping from the feather's themselves and the dead smell was coming from her.
    I've moved her into solitaire in the barn where it's warmer but I'm extremely confused. I live in Pennsylvania and it's been extremely cold the past couple of days, so I didn't know if that had anything to do with it.

None of the other chickens have it and I was hoping that someone whose maybe had a similar thing happen could tell me what's going on? I've looked everywhere but can't find any information. It's like the blood is coming from her feathers themselves!

Thank you!

2. MrsBrooke

MrsBrooke Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 11, 2014
    Magnolia, Texas