Strange Growth - cyst? Eggbound??

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by jnine, Jan 7, 2011.

1. jnine

jnine Out Of The Brooder

Dec 19, 2009
    The Great South East
    My barred rock hen has been moulting the last few days and today we noticed a large lump at the base of her belly. She is eating and acting normally, but has not been laying. Not sure if the moulting is due to the lump, but she is growing back new feathers while losing them at the same time.

The lump is soft to the touch, but firmly formed (rounded) and is about the size of half a tennis ball. Any advice would be most appreciated - not sure if it is something terminal or requires medical attention.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: Jan 7, 2011
  2. poultrycrazy

poultrycrazy Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 25, 2010
    :)
    i am no expert but that doesnt look good. But dont trust me cuz i could be totaly wrong. Hopefully someone else will know what it is and how to treat it?

3. jnine

jnine Out Of The Brooder

Dec 19, 2009
    The Great South East
    1) What type of bird , age and weight.
    - 15 month old barred rock hen, normal weight to heavy
    2) What is the behavior, exactly.
    - normal, behaviour, eating and drinking - not sure if still laying
    3) How long has the bird been exhibiting symptoms?
    - I first noticed that her feathers were hanging low a couple of weeks ago. There has been alot of rain here and they were always wet. The last few days she started moulting
    4) Are other birds exhibiting the same symptoms?
    - we thought one other hen was eggbound, but she is acting normally. We have had a few soft eggs the last few weeks but not sure who is the culprit (we have four hens)
    5) Is there any bleeding, injury, broken bones or other sign of trauma.
    - no bleeding or injury, but the lump is red and pulsates
    6) What happened, if anything that you know of, that may have caused the situation.
    - no, nothing we can think of