strange rooster behavior

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by shannon84, Jun 22, 2016.

1. shannon84

shannon84 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 1, 2016
    Indiana
    Hello I'm new with chickens as of (Easter week) I have a beautiful stray huge buff orpington rooster dropped off on me I'm guessing since non of my neighbors have chickens) anyways I got two adult hens off my dad so my rooster Franklin won't be so lonely well he only chooses to violently mate with only one particular hen, and when he does he smashes her flat and her feathers get stuck to his spurs! While he is doing the the other hen that she grew up with jumps on her too ! Pecking her and biting her head! Is this normal behavior? I feel absolutely terrible for the hen and I can tell she hates it and she tries to stay clear from them both :( please help! Thanks guys

2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    It will continue unless you separate them. This may be the reason he was dropped off at your place.

3. shannon84

Jun 1, 2016
    Indiana
    I think I'm going to give her back to my dad then. I don't know why he chooses that hen only to mate violently with, maybe because the other is mean lol ugh looks like I'll just have one hen and one rooster then . Thanks so much!

4. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    Do you need the rooster for fertile eggs? If not, you could rehome him and get more hens - maybe bet back the one you gave away.

5. shannon84

Jun 1, 2016
    Indiana
    Hi thanks for your response! I actually just wanted him only as a pet but I seen how lonley he was getting so I got the two adult hens from my dad, I thought it would work out just Fine but I see it's not going too [​IMG] it's that certain hen that he is bothering only. I don't get it.

6. oldhenlikesdogs

oldhenlikesdogs Lots of Chickens Premium Member

Jul 16, 2015