Strange Silkie Behavior - possibly prone to seizures?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Vercingetorix, Dec 8, 2013.

1. Vercingetorix

Vercingetorix New Egg

Dec 8, 2013
    Hello, I am new to raising chickens and currently have a mix of Silkies, Jersey Giants, and Americaunas.

But my silkie rooster has been having small fits or seizures every day. I found him one morning under a bush in the chicken pen on his side and mostly unresponsive, his head cradled to his body. I brought him inside and put him by the heater because I thought he had gotten cold during the previous night. That same night, I lost a hen to a fox or raccoon attack that scattered the birds out of the coop and into the pen.
    Since then I have kept him inside or inside a small cage. Every morning when I let him out of the cage he behaves normally and pecks at food for a minute. Then he begins to lay his head back on his body and slowly sits down on the floor or flops over to the side. What usually follows is a bit of his limbs twitching, and a few moments of stillness, then he seems to recover and stand back up. Usually this first episode is followed by another a few minutes later. The rest of the day he displays normal behavior, pecking food, drinking water, and generally being Slikie-like.

I'm wondering if there is anything I can do for him or should I cull? I tried reintroducing him to the rest of the birds today, but one of my roosters chased him under my fence to where my driveway's concrete is and he just laid under there. We brought him inside and after a couple of hours of him just laying on his side, he perked up again and behaved normally.

I would like to get into raising Silkies, and give my other birds to a friend. It concerns me that he has these fits and I worry about any damage they are doing to him, but if they are not killing him I would love to keep him and have him perform his roosterly duties.