Strange sticky hatching eggs?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by kukupecpec, Dec 13, 2012.

1. kukupecpec

kukupecpec Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 24, 2012
    Tucson AZ
    This is my first time trying to hatch eggs. All my girls have stopped laying so I opted for shipped eggs.

They arrived yesterday but supposedly the doorbell didn't work and the postman left a pick up slip instead of the box on the doorstep. I was able to pick them up at the post office this afternoon. I unpacked them all and everything seemed to be in good shape. I put them all pointy end down in an egg carton and was planning to leave them for 24 hours to let the air bubble stabilize - this is what I have seen as the consensus in looking around for what to do to hatch. I was checking just now to see what I could see since I've never had hatching eggs before and I could see the air bubble moving around when I moved the egg. I also see tons of little little spots all over the eggs when candling. Is this normal? Is this just the air bubble being broken up from shipping? The genius at the post office who went back to get my package tossed it around pretty bad in the few seconds he had it so I can't imagine what the box went through on it's way here.

All of the eggs seem to have these hard little dots on the outside of their shells. They almost look like little sap dropplets. they are clear in color and sticky to the touch, a couple of them stuck tot eh egg carton! I broke the first one, then the second one I chipped a piece of the shell trying to get it off. The third I tried to wash away from the carton and that one chipped as well. What could this sticky substance be? Have I done something wrong? Is my whole batch bad? Just super worried, so any ideas would be great!

2. Wisher1000

Wisher1000 Bama Biddy