Stressed button quail?

Discussion in 'Quail' started by LaceyNylons, Aug 12, 2011.

1. LaceyNylons

LaceyNylons New Egg

Aug 12, 2011
    Hi there everyone [​IMG]

I am fairly new to this world of caring for button quail but I love it so far! I purchased two quail a few days after my 21st birthday in early June, one is a male chinese painted named 'peep-peep' and the other is a female silver named 'peep'. I was told they were around 3months old when I purchased them.

They live in an elevated terrarium L:120cm W:30cm H:45cm with a clumping sand floor covering and soft wire roof to ease the stress of "boinking". My father in law helped me make them a little wooden elevated 'nesting box' filled with straw and hiding places underneath the elevated floor. I have silk plants in the tank to provide cover and grass stickers along the side of the glass so they don't walk into it :p

I feed them every day with turkey crumble, finch seed mix, broccoli, peas, shell grit and occasionally millet spray and live mealy worms. They have fresh water every day.

I feel like this is a good start, but there are some issues that I need to resolve.

1) Peep, my female silver button is balding [​IMG] I thought it was initially from boinking, but I caught the male pecking her head one night. It has not got worse or better over the last few weeks. Could this be from mating? I was thinking I could combat this issue with low ambient light and some of that blue dye I have read about and a high protein diet to help her regenerate her lost feathers.

2) Peep seems 'stressed' during full daylight hours. She runs up and down the terrarium rapidly while Peep-peep just chills. Is this normal behaviour or is my poor girl stressed? She chills out down in the evenings when the light is fading. Will she always be a skiddish quail?