1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Stressed! Chick Advice!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Thunder Bird, Feb 14, 2016.

1. Thunder Bird

Thunder Bird Out Of The Brooder

So my dad didn't agree to any of my complaints about not getting chicks to accompany my lonely hen, Raven. So instead I got two sibling chicks. I'm new in chick caring, and don't totally agree to the whole process of caring for them all by myself, so Raven has to take care for them. Though she's not broody yet, and I need to make everything chick-safe.

Meanwhile, I have to take care for them. It will be about a few weeks until she gets broody, and i'm worried that they can die before they can see the outdoors. I put them in a temporary box with newspaper and paper towels for their bedding, and two lids for water and feed. But i'm not sure if I should do this. Any advice?

2. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    How old are the chicks?

Your adult bird will not look after the chicks - broody or not - they are not hers, so I'd suggest having a plan B.

I'd suggest searching for "looking after chicks" and see what info there applies to you.

All the best
    CT

3. Thunder Bird

I heard hens adopting chicks, even pullets, but i'm not being totally sure. They are about a week old, or a few days older

4. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    In some circumstances they may do, but if she doesn't? - hence the suggestion of a plan B.

You have at least another 2-3 weeks before they are fully feathered out and then they will no longer require a heat source.

Then you may wish to read up on integrating new birds into a flock.

CT

5. 3riverschick