Strictly Daytime - Chicken Wires Predators

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Rural, Mar 2, 2017.

1. Rural

Rural Out Of The Brooder

Mar 2, 2017
    Hello All

I am new to BYC and also a newbie to chicken-keeping, I signed up because I needed a question answered that is not already clearly answered. Can someone here who has first-hand experience please share your experience.

I will be building a 48 in x 48 in x 24 in chicken tractor (CT) for my young 6-week pullets for them to be in before they transition into the Main Run with the older hens. The pullets will only be in the CT during the daytime.

There are feral cats, raccoons & possums around the area (as I have already trapped many).

I am on a LIMITED BUDGET AND CAN ONLY AFFORD TO USE CHICKEN WIRES. How effective is the chicken wire at protecting my young chickens? Has anyone witness chicken wires deter/defeat predators during the day? I need some reassurance, please help.

2. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    Hi :welcome

Glad you could join us here! I'm afraid chicken wire is good for keeping chickens in but not good for keeping predators out. They can easily chew and rip it apart. Hard ware cloth is the best option to be secure. I'm sure if you post in our coop and run section members there will be able to offer you more advice ~ https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/9/coop-amp-run-design-construction-amp-maintenance

Good luck and enjoy your time here on BYC :frow

1 person likes this.
  3. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas