Study of Indian Blue peafowl. Growth of male peafowl train feathers.

Discussion in 'Peafowl' started by clinton9, Jul 9, 2011.

1. clinton9

clinton9 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 2, 2011
    I studied the few longest train feathers, and I found they grow at 7 mm per day.

A 1535 mm train feather take 225 days to regrow, growing at 7 mm per day.

Adult male peafowl take 240 days to regrow the longest train feathers.

During moult of train, flight, tail feathers, the peafowls"s need for insects increase as more insects they eat, the faster the growth of train feathers, with daily grow rates normally 7mm per day, but can speed to 8 mm per day on birds roaming outside in large land only, where they exerises alot as they find lots of diffenent kinds of insects.
    They may eat the baby snakes and mice if they find them. Their testies become smaller, with birds have no interest in sex with peahens.

Cat foods / dog foods may be of help to male peafowls, along with insects you find in houses.

When adult male peafowls shedding train feathers, the shorter inner train feathers next door to tail coverts, are first to shed, followed by longer train feathers, so the last feathers to shed, are longest train feathers with "fish tail" Shedding of entirely train feathers may take @ 5-8 days.

Clinton.

2. Kedreeva

Kedreeva Longfeather Lane

Jun 10, 2010
    Michigan
    A nice study! I'm going to have to come back for information when I pick up the peafowl school posts again.

3. centrarchid

centrarchid Chicken Obsessed

Sep 19, 2009
    Holts Summit, Missouri
    How about supplementing insect forage with small fish or ground fish? My chickens pound down bluegill fry.

4. Frosty

Frosty Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 30, 2008
    ND