Stupid question about laying eggs

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by StrayMagnet, Jul 12, 2011.

1. StrayMagnet

StrayMagnet Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 10, 2011
    W. Georgia
    Ok PLZ don't laugh.. I know NOTHING!!! i'm just learning. these chickens were just Placed upon my doorstep as to speak lol.

but My questions are

1. how long before she starts to lay again. her chicks all hatched friday sometime and Emerged Saturday.. and one late bloomer hatched just yesterday.
    2. Dose she have to get with a rooster again to have her next batch of eggs be fertil. or do they also retain sperm for a short time like a turtle (see turtles are my thing I konw about them)
    3. what age can you take the chicks from mom? I have 2 ppl intrested in Chicks. but I was thinking to waite till they are of age to determine gender. as one lives in city limmits. and can't have rooster. so she wants a egg laying hen.

ok think thats it.. I guess i'm just anxious for a new batch of babys., I'm having so much fun with the ones that Were givin to me by Nature!! i want more!!!!

2. gryeyes

gryeyes Covered in Pet Hair & Feathers

1. She won't lay again until she is finished raising her chicks. That could be any time between 3 and 10 weeks, depending on how dedicated she is at being a mommy.
    2. They retain sperm a while, but 3 weeks of incubating takes care of that.... and of course, she won't lay until she's done raising her chicks, even IF she lets a rooster mount her while she's raising them.
    3. You can take them from mom at any time, as long as you are willing to brood them with supplemental heat. 95 degrees first few days, 90 degrees second week, 85 third week, 80 fourth week, 75 fifth week, and so on, until they are fully feathered. Leave 'em with mommy unless the new owner wishes to brood them.

....... "I'm having so much fun with the ones that Were givin to me by Nature!! i want more!!!!"

Mwaahaaahaaaahaaaa! And so it begins.......