1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

styrofoam...a treat or not?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by LadyDixieChick, May 19, 2011.

1. LadyDixieChick

LadyDixieChick Out Of The Brooder

May 19, 2011
    Rock Hill, SC
    I am new to this raising chickens, but I am in love with em all!! I have some white silkies ( a trio actually) the person who gave them to me said they like to peck and eat on styrofoam. He gives it to them and they LOVE it! actually, all my chickens do....Is this safe though? It just doesnt sound good to me....but they love it and they are healthy and happy....

2. laseterlass

laseterlass Chillin' With My Peeps

May 13, 2011
    Anchorage Alaska
    I hope that he was speaking of the packing peanuts that are made from corn starch. Not actual stryrofoam.

3. LadyDixieChick

LadyDixieChick Out Of The Brooder

May 19, 2011
    Rock Hill, SC
    I did not know that about the "pnuts' but no. He would give them actual stryrofoam ( he had some from something he bought) I wouldnt think it would be good for them, but he has been doing it for years. ( not a daily thing. just occasionally) but I have seen the chickens in action and they LOVE pecking and eating small pieces of it...

4. ChickensAreSweet

ChickensAreSweet Heavenly Grains for Hens

Styrofoam is not good for them to eat.

5. BrattishTaz

BrattishTaz Roo Magnet

Jan 8, 2011
    Tampa Area, Florida
    Last edited: May 19, 2011
  6. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas
    Good for them? No Will it kill them? Hasn't killed any of mine yet.