Subject 14 ( baby male )

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Fernandos owner, Jun 13, 2019 at 5:02 AM.

Tags:
  1. Helpful

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Duck

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Fernandos owner

Fernandos owner Hatching

Thursday
    Suffolk
    Hello there ... i am new to the world of ducks
    We have 2 one year old ducks ... brother and sister Fernando the male and white beek .. we have managed to incubate and hatch 8 duckings (from the brother and sister).. i would like keep the last egg that hatched called subject 14 who is male ... what are the chances of the 3 getting on

drakezilla and Trimurtisan like this.
  2. chickens really

chickens really Crazy Call Duck Momma

Having two males won't be good once breeding season starts again next year. The males will fight and over breed the Hen. Keep a couple of females.

3. Jbently28

Jbently28 Songster

May 7, 2018
    Louisiana
    Your female to male ratio should be about 3:1 to keep the peace during mating season. Definitely would not keep a male unless you plan on adding more females to your flock.

4. DuckyDonna

DuckyDonna Crowing

Aug 26, 2018
    Dallas, Georgia
    At least 3:1! My drake is in "drake jail" now because he has his 6 (SIX!) girl's necks tore up! I can't imagine having to deal with more than one drake even with 6 girls. He's like a little machine!

5. Trimurtisan

Trimurtisan Addicted to your pictures.

May 22, 2019
    A cypress swamp in FL
    Sadly, I'd agree, more females first.

I'm currently try to give my 2 male Pekin away due to my m:f ratio. They are not mature, nor mating, so everything is okay for now, but it won't stay that way.

6. drakezilla

drakezilla In the Brooder

Jun 7, 2019
    Colorado