suburban chickens?

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by obsessed, Sep 7, 2008.

1. obsessed

obsessed Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 3, 2008
    Slidell, LA
    I am a newbie. I am planning (for like two years) my suburban flock. I would like some advice from the suburban keepers here. Things like the noise, smell, the neighbors, set ups, breeds. Anything. I have read most of the posts ( for two years) but still don't feel ready to take the plunge [​IMG].

2. Chicken Boo

Chicken Boo Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 16, 2008
    Glenn Dale, MD
    We let our neighbors know that the girls were coming (after checking to see that we were zoned for such things). I was expecting very negative reactions but got stories of how they, their grandparent, neighbors, friends, etc. had chickens and how much they enjoyed them. I will say that we do not have a rooster and disappointment for this lack has been expressed by most of my neighbors, but not all. They make regular trips over to visit the girls and laugh at them when they "run". A few of our neighbors think we are a little crazy to have the chickens, but as long as it does not affect them, they do not mind. They often comment on how they like hearing the chicken cackle, which is good because one of them walks around talking to herself all day.

We compost everything we can, including the litter from the henhouse. There is no real smell that last very long (depending on what we find in the back of fridge).

That is our experience. I will post more if something occurs to me.

Enjoy your chickens!

3. BayCityBabe

BayCityBabe Chillin' With My Peeps

May 1, 2008