Suburban Geese(should I get some?)

Discussion in 'Geese' started by scriptkiddie, Jan 29, 2013.

1. scriptkiddie

scriptkiddie Out Of The Brooder

Jul 12, 2012
    Missouri
    I'm still fairly new to backyard flocks. We've had chickens for a while now and now a friend wants to give us two chinese geese. I like the idea, but I would like to know what I'm going to be getting into. I've talked with him about land requierments, diet, water for swimming/drinking, and other needs. What I really want to know is, have others tried it and what was your experience?

2. Going Bhonkers

Going Bhonkers Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 12, 2012
    SW Florida
    One thing that you might want to consider is that they tend to get loud when they get excited. My parents live in a rural-suburbany area, I dont believe the noise bothers our neighbors much.

(They dont make much noise at night)

1 person likes this.
  3. scriptkiddie

Jul 12, 2012
    Missouri
    That's great to know. I didn't think of that. I need to look into what in or around my yard would get them excited. My neighbors have commented about my chickens, that they love the occasional rooster crow when he gathers the hens for the night (We sound proofed our coop so they don't hear him in the morning) as well as the hens doing thier "egg song". I wonder how loud they get.

4. Going Bhonkers

Apr 12, 2012
    SW Florida
    I haven't recorded a video of them when they get excited... its usually when they see me coming to let them out of the coop in the mornings, or when my mom/ dad go outside (its kind of like a greeting, I would think. Doesnt last that long, but it is loud) or when they see strangers (neighbors taking their garbage bins to the curb or getting their mail - this is more like an alert)

5. scriptkiddie

Jul 12, 2012
    Missouri
    nice... Thank you. That is good information.

6. CelticOaksFarm

CelticOaksFarm Family owned, family run

Sep 7, 2009
    Florida - Space Coast