Success rate on shipped eggs

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by CalicoFarm, Mar 25, 2009.

1. CalicoFarm

CalicoFarm Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 5, 2009
    North East Alabama
    For those of you that have recieved shipped eggs, what was your hatch rate on the different was the eggs were packaged? I am just getting started on buying shipped eggs. I have bought 4 different sets. The first ones were button quail shipped in plastic egg cartons, it had 1 broken egg. I got about a 75% hatch rate on that one. Next was Serama, they were shipped in a paper egg carton, no broken eggs. Again, about a 75% hatch rate. Next was another batch of Serama, they were individually wrapped in bubble wrap, no broken eggs. None of them even developed. Next were Dutch bantams, packed in paper egg carton, 1 was cracked. They are in the incubator now, lookes like about 50% are developing. I was just wondering if anyone else had any differances in rates in the different packaging ways.

2. gabrielle1976

gabrielle1976 Overrun With Chickens

Feb 21, 2009
    Columbia river gorge
    I have gotten 2 sets of eggs shipped , I recived 24 eggs from all the way across the USA nice packing non broken or cracked 13 developed , I now have 11 eggs at day 11 , 2 developed blood rings .
    My second set of eggs I got 6 eggs non broken but they have only been in there for 2 days so far , they all had detatched air cells but we shall see.

3. CANDLE98

CANDLE98 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 29, 2008
    Meridian Idaho
    What does a detached air cell look like?

I will let you know about my shipped eggs when they hatch, I am also interested in everyone's success rate! [​IMG]

4. gabrielle1976

gabrielle1976 Overrun With Chickens

Feb 21, 2009
    Columbia river gorge