Success with Brinsea Octagon!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by scflock, Jan 13, 2015.

1. scflock

scflock Overrun With Chickens

Jan 13, 2015
    Upstate South Carolina
    I have been reading this forum for a while to get hatching tips, and have waited to post until now. I've been raising a few flocks of purchased day-olds for several years now, but this year I have all the chickens I want, and decided to start hatching from my own flocks to sell. I started cheap, with a still air styrofoam incubator. I thought the worst that could happen was the eggs didn't hatch. After dealing with a 40% hatch rate, crooked toes, splayed legs, etc..., I was very discouraged, and was scared to try again. Don't get me wrong, I'm sure a lot of it was user error, but wild temperature fluctuations and my inability to accurately measure humidity made a mess of 7 silkies.
    I read the reviews, researched for 3 months, and finally decided on an Octagon 20 advance. I bought this one so I could add the humidity pump later, if I wanted.
    I set 18 Cuckoo Marans and 6 White crested black Polish on Monday night, Dec. 22.
    What a rock solid little incubator! Temp was always 99.5-99.6. Kept humidity between 40 and 42 for the first 18 days, but I had to fill both reservoirs to maintain this without closing the air vent more than 1/3. I was concerned about maintaining 65% at lockdown, but I read elsewhere on here about wicking with a paper towel. That worked like a champ!