Sudden death of a chicken

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by rlouie246, Jul 20, 2011.

1. rlouie246

rlouie246 New Egg

Jun 3, 2011
    Hi,
    I am new to this, I bought some chicks in March and they have all been healthy until today. They are free range but I put them in at night,
    This morning I went to let them out and one of my Barred rocks had her neck outstreched and looked like she had trouble breathing. A short time later she died. When I was walking around I discovered one of my male cornish rocks had died under the coop (Probably yesterday).
    There were no injuries on either one of them.
    What could be happening?? I tried ask a vet, but I don't have $50 dollars right now for an answer.
    Can anyone help me?

Thanks

2. buckboy101

buckboy101 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 26, 2011
    First off, [​IMG]
    And about the chickens. They could have choked due to something they ate, or They may have been alergic to what you were feeding them but that is very rare.

3. buckboy101

buckboy101 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 26, 2011
    First off [​IMG]

And the chickens could have choked or they could have been alergic to what you were feeding them altough that is really rare

4. chickenbuttsowhat

chickenbuttsowhat Chillin' With My Peeps

May 30, 2011
    Danville, Arkansas