summer storms and city chickens

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by paklucas, Jun 27, 2010.

1. paklucas

paklucas In the Brooder

May 9, 2010
    Minneapolis
    Hi;
    I live in MN in the Twin Cities with two chickens in my backyard. This is my first year with chickens.
    I have an A-frame coop with a run built on but I also let my chickens out for variety and exercise. The coop is made to move around the yard but it is not a one person job.

We just had some severe wind, hail and down pouring rain storms . The coop kept them dry and protected from the hail but I worried about wind damage. Not only could branches fall on the coops but in a tornado or high wind, the coop could lift off the ground. Luckily that did not happen this time.

My question is, should I leave the pen open and let them find their own safest place or do I keep them contained? My chickens do like to go under my deck when they are out which might be more stable. I do know nothing is guaranteed in a tornado. Any suggestions?

Thanks,
    Patti and the City Chicks.

2. jeb251

jeb251 Songster

Mar 24, 2009
    Fort Wayne
    my tractor is very light it can be moved with ease, but it is also very stable, it has been through some storms that had 70 mile an hour winds with no problem, it was blowing so hard, I saw a hen lay the same egg three times, it didn't move a bit and if a tornado hits your back yard, you deck will be gone as well, my suggestion is put them in the coop so they don't go out into the wind and possibly get blown to the next county.

3. paklucas

paklucas In the Brooder

May 9, 2010
    Minneapolis
    Thanks.
    It's good to know that yours didn't move in the wind. My instinct was to leave them there. They seemed to survive without any signs of trauma.

I just had this picture in my head of the house in Wizard of Oz flying away and thought about their coop not being tied to the ground.

P.

4. cposz

cposz Songster

May 5, 2009