Swan hatrching *day 2* updated pics

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by melissa508, May 8, 2009.

1. melissa508

melissa508 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 23, 2009
    ma
    Everything so far has gone perfect. 4 of them hatched yesterday, and they spent the entire day resting.

I still have more eggs to hatch, i havent opened the bator, but the one i could see through the window has lots of cracks in it:D

heres what i woke up to today:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

They have been singing all moring- It sounds exactly the same as chicks
    [​IMG]

2. Garden Gal

Garden Gal Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 11, 2009
    Virginia
    Beautiful! Are you planning on keeping them?

3. melissa508

Mar 23, 2009
    ma
    Yes, but i wont be keeping them all

4. Garden Gal

Garden Gal Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 11, 2009
    Virginia
    I'm a landscape designer and was on a project site one day which backed up to a lake. There were two beautiful swans in the water just "doing their own thing". A while later I turned around in time to see one of them coming at me, wings flapping, neck stretched out, etc... I tell you what - THAT is a sight you don't want to see!!! [​IMG]

It was spring so I assumed they had a nest nearby, but I was glad to be able to put a shovel between me and the swan long enough to "encourage" him to leave me alone! I guess it was really the bird who did the encouraging... I left the back yard and he left me alone...

5. melissa508

Mar 23, 2009
    ma
    I think theyre alot like geese personality wise. I once had a chinese goose, i raised him from 3 days old. he was such a baby, I carried him around in a baby blanket for weeks..lol. he had a great personality, however i was living out of state & didnt know many people.
    when strangers would come to visit, he did not like them & he would go after them the second they turned their back lol