1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Sweet feed

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by Briggadane, Feb 24, 2016.

1. Briggadane

Briggadane Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 11, 2010
    Ok, ive been trying to find others who actually use this as a food source as i do for chickens. I cant locate anything. That being the case, i felt a new thread was a good idea.

Ive been feeding this to my ADULT birds for about 6 months now. I live in northern Ohio where we get freezing tedmps and snow for weeks on end. So know that sometimes there is no outdoor time for birds to forage.

Also know that i use a mixture of 1\3 or 1\4 of cracked corn or scratch in the sweet feed.
    I expected deficiencies to show up, and expected runny fecies.
    The first is not present after 6 months. The second is. This is making deep litter method a challenge, but also is keeping the coop warmer in cold stretches. A wash to my thinking.

Ive also noticed that since the fall molt new feathers appear very glossy and healthy. I did have thin shelled eggs at one point, but dis├žovered that free fed oyster shell had run out. No telling how long, as prior to change over they seldom used it. Now they go through it rapidly. Even in winter my eggs yolks are rich yellow\orange.

Birds are in good weight. Currently my summer chicks are just starting to lay, no shell problems there. Fertility could be better, but all my males were 6-9 months old. Fertility is getting better now, based on my incubating.

Now understand i feed table scaps 3-4 times a week, and ive got over 60 birds. Birds also have large mulch piles to go through daily.
    And i feed a couple hand fulls of cat food when its too cold or snowy for birds to venture out. Probiotics afre also given on occasion.