Switch to Fermenting Feed and how often to feed?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Icela, Feb 2, 2014.

1. Icela

Icela New Egg

Feb 10, 2013
    TEXAS
    Hello there !

I am pretty new in raising chickens. I would like to thank everyone in advance since I have been reading your posts and learning so much.
    Now I would like to have your feed back and advise. I have been feeding my girls with H&H No SOY No GMO layer feed and have been doing great until a few months back I believe they increased the amount of pellets in the mix and my girls DO NOT like the pellets...so they end up kicking it to the ground and wasting a lot of feed (which also allows for vermin to feel very welcome to the leftovers). I also left the feed out for them at all times for them. So I read somewhere about fermenting the food for three days or more and I would like to try doing so, in my efforts to not waste feed and hopefully get rid of the vermin.I have 11 girls 7 RI Reds /1 Barred/3 Easter Eggers and a NH Red Rooster. My questions are: How do you ferment your food??? and How often do you feed them, and how much per chicken? or anything else you may want to add...your experiences and knowledge will be very welcome. [​IMG]

2. Icela

Icela New Egg

Feb 10, 2013
    TEXAS
    " I want to live in a Society where people are intoxicated with the joy of making things " By William S. Coperthwaite

3. lazy gardener

lazy gardener True BYC Addict

Nov 7, 2012
    CENTRAL MAINE