Switching out Roosters....

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Ladybug922, Oct 12, 2013.

1. Ladybug922

Ladybug922 Out Of The Brooder

Jun 23, 2012
    Hi all, I'm fairly new at this whole chicken flock thing and I'm looking to replace my rooster. The silver Wyandotte Roo I have now is one I have had since I started my flock. He is large and super aggressive to both the chickens and humans. Not the greatest when you have a little kid. Although we have been dealing with him, I now have the chance to replace him with a younger, smaller Easter egger Roo, who is supposedly much friendlier. I will "dispose of" the other Roo, he is not the type to live in harmony with another male, but I'm wondering if my girls will take to this new, younger man or if they will beat the crap out of him. Some of my girls are pretty big and they are used to a big aggressive Roo. Some of them on the other hand, are totally afraid of the Roo I have now and would appreciate a less aggressive boy. Any thoughts on this would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

2. RoostersCrow HensDeliver!

RoostersCrow HensDeliver! Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 11, 2011
    SE Michigan
    How young is he? If he is not fully mature, he might get picked on and find himself at the bottom of the pecking order until he realizes he is " the big GUY". Or he could assume his place at the head of the flock if he is a confident young guy.

Remember! Before you introduce him to your flock, QUARANTINE him so you make sure he is not transporting any illness and contaminating your flock. For at least a week but two would be better.

3. BantamFan4Life

BantamFan4Life LOOK WHAT YOU MADE ME DO. Premium Member

Jun 15, 2012
    Washington
    My Coop
    x2

4. Ladybug922

Ladybug922 Out Of The Brooder

Jun 23, 2012