Swollen eye on pullet

ShelleyGordon

In the Brooder
6 Years
Apr 2, 2013
Help! I added two new chickens to my flock about one month ago. They were rooster replacements from my chick breeder.

I noticed today that the right eye is swollen in one of my new girls, Princess Leah. No bubbles or breathing issues. No foul smell either. She is eating great and behaving her normal lively self. She is not laying yet.

Unfortunately, she is the most skittish chicken I have. I had to sneak out to the coop and get pictures in the night.

What do you think this is? There is a white marking on the surface of her eye. I've been reading about diseases and eye worms.... and driving myself crazy. I am new to this so please help me out.

This is her normal size left eye....

Sometimes another chick will pluck em in the eye. I would just keep an eye on it. If it gets worse or full of puss, you may want to give her a some duramycin 10 powder in her water, I add a lil sugar to mine, they like it more and it'll add a lil fluid to them that'll help speed up the healing process.

Good Luck!

Did you quarantine the new birds for 30 days before adding them to your existing flock? It's been my (bad) experience that it's always risky to take in new older birds. (Older than day old chicks). Even from breeders. (Ask me how I know.)

This could be nothing, but it could be the beginning of a respiratory illness. You may hate it, but this is one of those "wait and see" situations. If she starts up with any other symptoms, isolate her immediately and do some research on what steps to take next. I've become a firm believer in culling immediately at the first sign of respiratory disease, but I know others have other opinions.

I did not quarantine the new birds.... I foolishly listened to the breeder. I believe the other bird has mites and have been fighting that for about two weeks. He's not a breeder I will use again.

Thank you thank you for your response.