Swollen Eye

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Chickrescue, Jun 26, 2011.

1. Chickrescue

Chickrescue Out Of The Brooder

Jun 8, 2011
    [​IMG]

Hi, am very new to chickens and have looked all over the site and can't find anything like this. The eye is a little watery but nothing else. She was given to me yesterday and they said it had been like this for a few days. I do think it has grown since yesterday. Drinking, eating and pooping ok.
    She is a only a year old, leghorn. She scratches it a little and flicks her head a little. Nothing extreme. I have put her in her own cage at the moment so the others don't bully her as she is obviously not at her strongest. She is very thin and I can feel her bones. I would struggle to find any vets fews. Is there anythng I can do? x

2. stargirl

stargirl Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 15, 2011
    UK
    It looks to me (& I'm no expert!) like she could have an abscess in her sinuses. It looks like there's a lump under her eye and its so swollen its forcing her eye shut a bit.
    If you touch it, does it feel hard?

If it is that, she'll need it cutting open and cleaning out. It's really a vet job, I'm afraid. If you can't afford that, I'd put her on an antibiotic like baytril and see if it makes any difference [​IMG]

3. chickenzoo

chickenzoo Emu Hugger

That looks like a sinus infection brought on by a respiratory illness. That pocket is filled with puss and must be opened, hard puss pulled out, cleaned out and ointment applied, then start her on a course of Tylan 50 injections under the skin , 1/2 cc for 3 days. I must tell you however it is probably Coryza( will get a bad smell about the face) or one of the other nasty infections that spreads to other birds easily, can be a carrier state where infected birds may look better but continue to shed the virus during their lifetime. Do a search on Coryza, CRD & MG so you can make a better decision on what you want to do. It's tuff