1. Come check out hundreds of awesome coop pages (and a few that need suggestions) in our 2018 Coop Rating Project!

Swollen, hard, painful feet/legs

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by groverlvchx, Jan 13, 2013.

1. groverlvchx

groverlvchx Chirping

Oct 14, 2012
    Minnesota
    I am new to chickens but have learned LOTS on BYC. I have a small flock of 12 chickens who were hatched August 1 and 3 laying hens who were hatched May 1. I obtained them all when my coop/run were complete in October. The 12 younger ones are farmyard mutts (standard size) and the three that started laying December 1 are black orpingtons.
    The last few days I've noticed one of the younger ones did not want to roost with the others and seemed to not move around much. It would stretch out a foot to the side a few times (not the usual straight back stretch) and seemed to not want to put weight on it. I thought it was only the right foot and it looked a little puffy to me. This morning it didn't come running to eat so I put some fodder next to it and it began eating. A few hours later when I went back to the coop to check for eggs, it was lying on its back with feet sticking up and head twisted behind. Before this I didn't notice anything like wry neck behavior. I touched a foot and it pulled away from my touch and blinked at me. I came in to research if there was anything I could do, then went out to check on it again. It hadn't moved and though it was still breathing, seemed pretty much done in. I hired a mercenary (my father-in-law) to dispatch the little thing because I couldn't stand it suffering and slowly freezing.