Take a look and see what you think this could be

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Oztexchix, Feb 28, 2016.

1. Oztexchix

Oztexchix Out Of The Brooder

Sep 10, 2015
    Hi everyone! As I patiently wait for our first egg to show up, I noticed my sweet buff Orpington hanging back from the crowd, when I opened the pen yesterday. I was too busy to really pay attention then, but checked on her again today. She is definitely having some sort of issue. I thought it might be impacted crop, so I grabbed her up and started feeling her crop. It feels empty to me, but I'm a complete newbie. The real issue seems to be her holding her head in so that she looks like she has a pidgeon neck. I took some pictures so take a look and let me know what you think. :/
    Thanks,
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    A'Lisa

2. cafarmgirl

cafarmgirl Overrun With Chickens

Chickens will often stand around with the head pulled in like that if they don't feel well. How old are they? Were they added to an existing flock?

3. Oztexchix

Sep 10, 2015
    Thanks for your reply. These 6 girls are about 20 weeks old and have been together since 5 days old. They are on laying ration crumbles. They free-range in our backyard during the day, eating bugs and lots of winter rye grass. I give them apples cores, lettuce cores, strawberry tops and other kitchen scraps, as well as meal worm treats. She does seem to be at the bottom of the pecking order, although she does get her head in the feed bowl plenty often. Could she be getting ready to lay? I fear it's not something good, though.

4. Eggcessive

Eggcessive True BYC Addict Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio