Taking Care of Silkies - Two have moved in - Question re free ranging

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by livenwpeeps, Jun 6, 2011.

1. livenwpeeps

livenwpeeps Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 6, 2011
    King William
    Hey Guys! I have been a lurker for awhile now but have decided to come out of the barn to say hi and ask a question regarding silkies. I have only owned guineas - great for ticks and alarm system! So I am new to chickens however two silkies have showed up with the guineas one day and have been free ranging close to the coop and coming back in the coop at nights with the quineas so they can be locked up for the night. They act as if they have been doing it for years and the guineas don't even give them the time of day. I don't have any idea where they came from, how they got to my place but they have the greatest personalities and I have fallen in love with them. They are eating the game bird feed I feed the guineas. I didn't think they would stay but here it is a month later and they are still here. So my question is this, since they can't fly, is free ranging not a good idea? I live on a 1000 acre farm, hence why we needed tick control . Fox, stray dogs, owls and the road have been my main preditors for the guineas but these two don't roam far. My coop is close to the house so I think that is why they seem to be safe close to the coop. I have a coop and a run that is totally enclosed so they are safe at nights but it's during the day that I am worried. I let the guineas out in the afternoon after work and put them in at night. I trained them to come to my call and the silkies usually get back to the coop before the guineas. The silkies are soooo funny and they make me smile. I don't want anything to happen to them so any suggestions or answers or tips would be greatly appreciated!!!
    Thank you & I know silkies thank you too!!

2. NewToFarming

NewToFarming Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 28, 2010
    Millersburg, PA