Talk to me about vines and herbs

Cyneswith

Songster
Jun 14, 2017
Camden, SC
I've never grown plants around chickens, and my skill as a gardener... well, "rudimentary" would be complimentary.

I am considering growing nasturtium, clematis, honeysuckle, and either Chinese wisteria, climbng hydrangea, or ivy. I have no experience starting any of these plants, and no experience growing nasturtium, wisteria, climbing hydrangea, or ivy.

Chinese Wisteria may be too invasive. We are in the land of kudzu, after all, and I don't want to be THAT neighbor.

I'm looking to grow basil, lavender, mint, and parsley in my herb garden (there's already rosemary), but the only one of those I've successfully grown was mint. My lavender (seed) and basil (plant) have always died horribly.

I have a few clematis. They aren't exactly vigorous vines here. They are fairly easy, just plant, and let them go. Some need trimming yearly and some don't, it depends on the variety.

I grow nasturiums yearly, they are also easy. Just push the seeds into the soil after all risk of frosts are gone, if you get frosts. They need some sun and regular watering, otherwise they are simple. There are many different varieties, from Bush type to long trailing.

I forgot we also have Virginia creeper, hops and wild grapes as climbers. All are very vigorous. The chickens like the wild grapes.

As far as growing herbs many require well draining soil. Lavender can be temperamental, but does well in the right place.

Basil is easier bought as a plant form a nursery. Lots of herbs can do well in pots due to the better drainage.

I just started growing nasturtiums, this will be my 3rd year. The hens love to eat them. They are also used to decorate human meals. I tried one and it wasn’t bad. Will probably use them for bakery accents as well. In the past I’ve kept my garden separate from the hens. I do put a few pots of hearty herbs in the run like oregano, mint, but keep the rest of the garden outside their area.