1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Tapping...Not Chirping...Day 21 possibly...

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by redcoopinn, May 5, 2016.

1. redcoopinn

redcoopinn New Egg

May 1, 2016
    Ok, ok, ok, I'm a new hatcher momma. My girls are so committed that there are 2 hens in the nest. One is super sweet (lavender cochin) the other is vicious and mean (all of a sudden - Barred Rock). So, ms Rosa Pecks (the mean one) came in late into the game. She thought she would 'help' Victoria (the cochin) and "let her have a break to eat". Well that turned into, "mine, mine, mine...." you get the message. So since I AM new to this, I didn't know what I was looking for when candling them the first 14th day....I suppose it was anyways. Now, I can DEFINITELY see what I should be looking for. It's ALL black in there except for about an inch of air cell (I understand the air cell reason). However, I was told even after day 19 if you move them it's ok, as long as you don't shake them and you keep the orientation the same - WHICH I DID. But before putting this baby egg'y back, I wanted to candle it to see if today was the day or when? I can't see under 2 hens of fluffiness and I surely can't get into the 2x6 coop. So I wanted to see. I saw some movement, and I even have a video of it, but I don't know if it looks like the beak is pipping. I mean when (and only when) I put the egg up to my ear I hear a tapping sound, no chirping. Am I doing everything right? How much longer do ya'll think? Everyone tells me to let them do their thing, obviously I am because I'm not sticking eggs into an incubator.....

2. TheKindaFarmGal

TheKindaFarmGal Chillin' With My Peeps