Teaching young kids about animals

Discussion in 'Hobbies' started by JoJo 95, Jul 5, 2010.

1. JoJo 95

JoJo 95 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 15, 2009
    Ok I am a 10th grade student at an agricultural school. My three favorite hobbies are being around animas and nature, teaching kids, and helping make a difference. So I have decided to put these three things together and teach kids about animals. What would be some acceptable activities that would be fun, safe, an educational. I also have a few animals that would be used for hands-on learning. I will definitely have goats, pigs, chickens, ducks, geese, fish, pigeons, and a few turkeys. All of my animals will be docile as to not scare the children. Any advice, tips, or suggestions will be considered.

ETA: my ag teacher says this will be a good S.A.E project

Last edited: Jul 5, 2010
  2. JoJo 95

Mar 15, 2009
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

3. CoopCrazy

CoopCrazy Brooder Boss

Mar 3, 2009
    Columbus,IN
    I like to do hands on animal progression with kids.. My sons preschool had a blast .. When we brought in fowl I brought a hen, a roo, chicks at different ages, and eggs form the birds. It was cool to see how many knew the right progression.. Then at the same time I brought in Quail and a Frizzle .. i showed that the kids that thier are all kinds of fowl and showed them some of the differences.. another fun one would be to show canlding incubation pics and how the baby forms inside the egg....

4. JoJo 95

Mar 15, 2009
    I planned on doing an incubation project. I also wanted to teach them how the different animals interact with each other

5. Mary Of Exeter

Mary Of Exeter Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 10, 2009
    Rowan County, NC