Tech People - I need your genius! *Update*

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by Chickerdoodle13, Jun 7, 2011.

1. Chickerdoodle13

Chickerdoodle13 The truth is out there...

Mar 5, 2007
    Phoenix, AZ
    I have a Toshiba Satellite A215-S4747 laptop computer which is about four years old now. It runs slow sometimes and I just recently read about upgrading the RAM. Other than being a bit slow, the computer is a workhorse and I've never had any major problems. From what I read, it is very easy to do. However, I've never done it before and I need a bit of advice.

I've found this product which seems like it should work in my laptop, but I want to be sure. Right now I only have 1 GB RAM and my laptop supports four. This is a pretty good price. A single 2 GB chip is about $26. Can someone tell me if I'm reading everything right and these chips will actually work in my laptop? Here is the link:

http://www.amazon.com/PNY-Channel-P...WN8U/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1307464904&sr=8-5

I've been kicking around the idea of either getting a new computer or a netbook, but if I can make my computer faster and last a bit longer for just $50, I would rather do that!

Last edited: Jun 12, 2011
  2. Crazy4mypeeps

Crazy4mypeeps Chillin' With My Peeps

May 17, 2011
    Nebraska
    The specs say that the motherboard can handle up to 4gb, so you should be ok with that. Have you done a disk clean up? Taken off programs that you don't use, and also defragged the hard drive? Those are typical things that I do when I experience a slow down, first, before trying and upgrade.

3. Chickerdoodle13

Mar 5, 2007
    Phoenix, AZ
    Thanks Crazy4myPeeps!