temp spike will they be ok?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by greenthumb89, Jul 17, 2008.

1. greenthumb89

greenthumb89 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 30, 2008
    pulaski wisconsin
    this is my first time hatching i am using an LG still air without a turner and the temp spiked to 104...no idea how long but when i went to turn them at 9 it was at 104 so it could have been there since 1 this afternoon...i know that this is probably going to harm the hatch but by how much? anyone know? this is my first hatch i got 22 eggs in there and im only hoping for 4ish chicks...at the most

2. lowcountrypoultry

lowcountrypoultry Chillin' With My Peeps

They could still be alive, wait it out.
    Do you candle?

My last hatch I had temperature spikes, and turning problems and got 90% hatch rate, just make sure it doesn't happen again during incubation.

LG= Little Giant?

I used to have a Little Giant and it always spiked and never got good hatches, you might as well upgrade to a hova-bator there the best [​IMG]

What kind of eggs you got in there?

3. CindyS

CindyS Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 14, 2008
    Geneseo, Illinois
    I dont think it will hurt a thing, why are you only expecting 4 chicks?

4. Eggseronious

Eggseronious Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 6, 2008
    East Tennessee
    Usually temp spikes like you are talking about dont effect the hatch that much. I would not worry. However spikes greater and longer, should be of concern. Just keep an eye on the temps and try to correct it when they start. [​IMG]

5. hatchcrazzzy

hatchcrazzzy Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 8, 2007
    kemp texas
    i had a temp spike of 110 and some hatched i dont think it hurt yours

6. Hangin Wit My Peeps

Hangin Wit My Peeps AutumnBreezeChickens.com

Apr 20, 2008
    Birnamwood, Wisconsin