Temp variances in bator

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by skunknchatter, Jan 28, 2012.

1. skunknchatter

skunknchatter Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 19, 2007
    Northern Utah
    Hubby and I made our "Binki-bator" (as named by our son) today and we're just trying to work out the kinks. I have a temp variance 3 degrees from one side of the bator to the other. I do have a fan in my bator. I also have a water wiggler right in the middle of my egg platform (screen). Should I not worry about the 3 degree variance if I can get my wiggler to stay constant?

Also my humidity jumps down a lot when I open the bator for a few seconds (no egg turner here) but it does climb back up pretty good. Is this okay. Also I can only get it to about 46% OR it will jump up to 67% and rising. Any ideas? Thanks all! Looking forward to my first test hatch.

2. tec27

tec27 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 6, 2011
    Pittsburgh
    3 degrees is a lot. Especially since you have a fan. Fans are meant to keep the entire incubator the same temp. Check to make sure your fan is doing its job. Other than that if your different temps are still in the 98-102 range then i wouldn't worry about it too much. You're humidity should be around 40% for the first 18 days. Some people will say 50% or whatever. I don't think anyone really knows the perfect humidity. My house is relatively humid on its own i guess so my bator has a natural humidity of 40%. I just keep it at this level until lockdown. Then i add water to get it up to 60-70%. If your humidity is too high and you can't get it down, try adding dry rice. The rice will absorb the humidity. If your humidity is too low, add water but make sure you increase the amount of surface area the water takes up. So add a little container of water but then add a sponge or something to increase its surface area.

3. skunknchatter

Aug 19, 2007
    Northern Utah