1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Terrible dog attack

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by AUtiger79, Mar 7, 2009.

1. AUtiger79

AUtiger79 New Egg

Mar 7, 2009
    Hello everyone. Today is my first day on this site. But, it's also the worst day of my poultry-filled life. Me and my family have been the prowd owners of 28 laying hens and a few roosters. It's my first time raising chickens, and we've enjoyed every minute of it. We have a large farm - and our hens were producing eggs generously.

We went on a cruise this past week. During our respite, the man who was caring for our birds came over one afternoon and found a dog in the wyandotte yard. Unfortunately, the dog had killed ALL 14 chickens. Before he could capture the dog, it ran off into the woods.

The next day, he came back and found the same dog in the ISA brown yard. The dog had killed all 14. He shot the dog this time.

We returned home from vacation today, and discovered our chickens missing. It wasn't until I called him that we heard the unfortunate news. I have to say that I have been deeply torn by this ordeal, and absolutely have no way of explaining just how much we are hurting.

I guess I had to vent, but I'd like to know if anyone has ever heard of ONE dog killing that many chickens. I believe his story - but just cannot believe that one dog did all this damage. I'd love to hear from you.....

Chris

2. Hangin Wit My Peeps

Hangin Wit My Peeps AutumnBreezeChickens.com