Thank you, chicken lovers!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Intheshadow, Jun 9, 2016.

1. Intheshadow

Intheshadow New Egg

Jun 9, 2016
    Montana
    Thank you, chicken lovers, for sharing your chicken knowledge! I'm now in my second year of raising chickens and I have spent so much time on this website so I figured I should finally join. [​IMG]

My original 8 chicks from last spring: 2 pearl leghorn, 2 buff orpington, 2 barred rock, and 2 rhode island red.
    I added, from a kind stranger/neighbor down the road, a young polish bantam rooster and his good friend a young bantam pullet.
    Of these, I lost a leghorn and both barred rocks to predators. :(

This year I purchased 28 chicks. Bless my husband, he didn't say a word.
    8 were Cornish Cross; I won't do those again.
    4 Brown leghorn (lost one)
    4 Araucana (because I promised one of my kids blue/green eggs when he was distraught over the loss of chickens)
    4 black Jersey Giants, straight run (hoping for at least one roo)
    2 Australorp
    2 Brahma (lost one)
    2 silver Wyandotte
    2 black sex-link

A few days after I purchased this group, my bantam began setting on an egg. So I slipped her two more eggs, and this April she hatched three--all have beautiful crests (mohawks?); the bantam's chick is black, another is coppery and black, and another brown and black; I think I got one each of the RIR and BO, but the color and pattern is so much like the rooster, I'm not sure whose genes were expressed.

We butchered our cornish cross and the pearl leghorn, because she was a wily creature that laid most of her eggs where I couldn't get them; I can't afford freeloaders.