Thank you everyone on Incubating & Hatching Eggs

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Thunderboltt, Apr 16, 2012.

1. Thunderboltt

Thunderboltt Out Of The Brooder

Apr 16, 2012
    This is my first time ever hatching and raising chickens. My mother had and old incubator brand new, A little giant (no instructions) for chickens but never used it (she was going to one of these days LOL). So the incubator was setting in my basement for years. I dug it out and read all I could about it. off this site Wow what a big help you all have been. I bought a flat of eggs from a local farmer that said the eggs were fetal $1. I placed the eggs in the incubator at 99.5 degrees filled the water wells full turned the eggs over twice a day. I waited 7 days and candled them, Wow to my surprise I saw heart beats in every egg. I waited another 7 days and candled again. There is movement in all eggs but one. I felt that wasn't to bad. I stooped tuning them on the 18th day and candled them one more time to my surprise there was movement in all the eggs. according to the form this is considered lock down don't touch them until they hatch and put a few more water trays in the bottom for extra humidity. So i had some little plastic lids that fit in the bottom of the incubator just perfect I filled 4 of them with water plus the well in the bottom of the indicator. Nothing on the 19day, 20th day at night 2 eggs had pip holes I was so exciting I slept on the coutch as not to miss the show. It is started early. And sure enough I hear load peeping coming from the kitchen at 1:00 am i jumped up and went to look one was hatched a little brown chick all wet and couldn't walk yet. Looking at the eggs i noticed 5 of them had pip holes now. I went and lay down again 5:00 am number 2 emerged I couldn't go back to sleep. by 8:30 am 6 had hatched. Number 7 showed up at 1pm on the 21st day. 4 to go all had pip marks but one. By 3:00pm all were hatched but that last egg with no pip marks. s