1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Thank you 'SpeckledHen'..humidity question answered for an idiot!!!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by dwegg, Nov 28, 2010.

1. dwegg

dwegg Chillin' With My Peeps

I am getting eggs to hatch and it is my VERY first time. I went and bought a digital thermometer/hygrometer AcuRite from Lowes with the sensor thingy. Anyway....I set up the bator to run and play with it to see if I could do it all right before the eggs came. The temp in the Hovabator is perfect at 100F but I just couldn't get the humidity up?????? I was paniced and kept filling the trays and nothing moved?
    So I researched [​IMG] and came across an old post where 'SpeckledHen' said that you have to have the whole device in the bator for it read the humidity and not just the sensor as the sensor does not read the humidity...BINGO!

I put the whole device in and MAGIC [​IMG] the humidity is now perfect...THANK YOU, THANK YOU...SpeckledHen! You are a lifesaver! THANK YOU! [​IMG]

Thought I would post this for any other newbies out there...

2. rebelcowboysnb

rebelcowboysnb Confederate Money Farm Premium Member

Don't feel bad, you would not believe how many people have that issue on here every year.

3. justtoni44

justtoni44 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 13, 2010
    oregon
    Your not an idiot....just learning
    There is not room to list all of my opp's hatching this year while learning.[​IMG]
    Killed my whole first batch because I did not calibrate my new hydrometer.grrrrrrrrrrrrr
    Guilt, guilt , guilt

4. muddstopper

muddstopper Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 23, 2008
    Murphy NC