Thank you to the experts! (bumblefoot)

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by USAmma, Dec 21, 2013.

1. USAmma

USAmma Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 26, 2009
    I am newish to quail raising and noticed tonight that one of mine has a huge severe case of bumblefoot (was able to identify thanks to this forum and some google searching). Without intervention she will probably die because it was so, so huge. She already was limping. I have 17 quail and 2 kids and thus I missed it until tonight. Regular foot inspections after this . . .

Anyway after mustering up the courage and seeing several threads with photos and descriptions I went to the drug store and got the supplies and performed the task. I'm a nurse and this was still challenging for me. The quail handled it better than I expected. It took a good 45 minutes to remove all the bits and pieces of the core and I'm still not sure I got it all but I didn't see anymore after more soaking and blotting and digging. It was extremely deep and I could not see to the bottom of the hole and just squeezed and got more out. It came out mostly in small chunks with one big chunk at the end. I really was feeling faint, it was really disgusting to keep getting those chunks out. Never imagined such a thing! I mean I have dressed stage IV sacral wounds and this one was about in the same category. I continued, knowing I was probably giving her a chance at a better life if she survives this. Afterwards I wrapped it up good with gauze and some duct tape and put her back with her friends. In addition to the antibiotic ointment and betadine, I did a betadine/sugar poultice before wrapping it up with her two front toes sticking out for balance, but the rest of the foot covered up. I am quite pleased with myself.