That long... really?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Paganbird, Apr 25, 2009.

1. Paganbird

Paganbird CrescentWood Farm

Apr 25, 2009
    Western Pa
    I am new to hatching eggs. We've had chickens for awhile, day old peeps,even, but never tried hatching eggs, until now.
    Three weeks ago, a racoon killed my beautiful SLW rooster. He was mild tempered and beautiful and my kids were soooo upset. So, we gathered up the eggs from the hens that were out with him and brought them in. I sent my DH to TSC for an incubator - and here I am, 3 weeks later with 5 fertile eggs.
    I tried searching this site for info on the actual hatch and I read a lot of posts. One post said it could take up to 24 hours for the eggs to hatch after the first pip. Is that true? I found one pipped this morning and it's been over 3 hours since I found it. Just a small pip, no more of the shell has been cracked than when I found it. It still shakes & I hear an occasional peep, but I want it to hatch so badly. We miss our rooster and would love to have one of "his" chicks.
    I don't want to interfere with hatching. What's normal to expect in regard to time frame for a single egg?

2. Shanay235

Shanay235 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 14, 2008
    WV
    It could be as long as 48+ hours from the time they pip to hatch. Don't be too eager to help just yet. As long as he's occasionally peeping and moving, he's OK.

3. Paganbird

Apr 25, 2009
    Western Pa
    Thanks for the reassurance. I'm worried that we may only get this one chick and I hope s/he makes it!

4. Shanay235

Sep 14, 2008
    WV
    Sorry, should have included this in the first response. The chick is resting and absorbing the yolk right now. Just try to keep track of how often he peeps, moves, or pecks at the egg. After 24 hours with no progress and you notice the movement, pecking, etc. slowing down, then I'd consider a possible intervention.