The BEST Thing About Having Ducks As Pets

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by FunnyBunnies12, Aug 29, 2010.

1. FunnyBunnies12

FunnyBunnies12 Chillin' With My Peeps

Since I'm a newbie to having ducks, I was wondering what is it about ducks that got you interested in getting them and then adding to the flock? Do you notice a differents in temperament in the breeds and sexes? Did you always want ducks, or did you just kind of stumble onto them and that was it, you love them. I'm interested in knowing what goes through others minds on ducks. A lot of people who don't own or understand think they are dirty stinky birds. To me, they are wonderful and they are only dirty and stinky if you don't clean them or after them.

2. KansasKid

KansasKid Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 7, 2010
    South East Kansas
    My addiction started a while back when i saw those little buggers in a farms store stock tank and bought a few cus they were cute and i thought it would be cool to have ducks splash around my pond, my addiction grew, i looked up breeds on the internet, and now i have 16 duckies (thats not a lot to some people) and out of the bunch i have 4 mandarins and some ringed teal that should be here around october. My addiction is growing and i hope to get some fulvous tree ducks next year. [​IMG]

3. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    Bill Mollison wrote, "you don't have a slug problem, you have a duck deficiency." So, when slugs ate my lunch - literally - last year, I resolved to correct the deficiency.

The minute I heard the message that my "chicks" had arrived, I felt absolutely maternal about the little peepers. At almost six months, they are still my little sweeties. I have eleven runners.