The chicks seems to be dying inside the egg. WHY?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by rhino533, May 1, 2011.

1. rhino533

rhino533 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 21, 2011
    Thailand
    This is my first time hatching eggs. I started off with 16 eggs. Day 5 in the incubator I Candled them and 5 were duds and 11 were fertilized. I candled again on day 7 and all seemed every egg had movment and seems healthy. I canadled again today which is day 11 and 5 eggs were for sure ok 6 didn't seem to change much from day 7 and there was no movment in the eggs, there was just a black spot about the size of a nickel. I decided to open 2 of the 6 eggs that didn't change. There was a baby bird inside both eggs but I'm pretty sure they were dead. I decided to put the remaining 4 eggs back into the incubator just in case. What would cause them to die? The temp in the incubator has been pretty steady at 99.5 - 100.2. Should there be movement in all the healthy eggs? If there is no movement would the eggs be most likely dead? The 2 eggs I opened there was no movement at all from the little chicks that were inside.

2. CrestedGirl

CrestedGirl Polish Obsessed

Mar 7, 2011
    Fort Worth, Tx
    What is the humidity level? Where did you get the eggs?

3. rhino533

Apr 21, 2011
    Thailand
    Quote:The eggs are from my Hen. The humidity got a bit high for the first 5 days so I put a smaller cup of water into the incubator which has totally helped. Do you think because the humidity was higher than it should be that would kill the chicks?

4. ChestnutRidge

ChestnutRidge Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 26, 2011
    Western Virginia
    I've candled and not seen movement but had chicks hatch from those eggs later. If they are developing, I'd leave them alone whether there is visible movement or not. From my last hatch, I've decided not to candle at all until day 14. By then, it's pretty decisive whether they are developed or not.

5. camalianus