The comb on 3 of my 6, 10 week old chicks are bent

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by ericnash, Jun 13, 2011.

1. ericnash

ericnash Out Of The Brooder

Jun 13, 2011
    I am new to backyard chickens and I have a concern that my chickens have a disease. Is a bent comb something to be concerned about? They are eating and drinking well, and 1 seems to have light stool, but is acting fine. Any suggestions?

2. mljohnson05

mljohnson05 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 16, 2011
    Missouri
    Depends on what you considered bent? Can you post a Picture?
    Have you checked them for worms, lice or mites???
    is the comb pale or cold?

3. ericnash

Jun 13, 2011
    I sprayed them for lice and mites. How do I check them for worms?

4. mljohnson05

mljohnson05 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 16, 2011
    Missouri
    some chicks have worms and show No signs or symptoms. There are many types of worms and each has its own set of symptoms.
    Hair worms -Diarrhea (usually green), pale yolks, anemia and birds looking hunched, wings sagging. Death with large infestations.
    Roundworm -Loss of egg production and pale yolk color and anemia are the biggest signs of a large roundworm infection as well as a loss in weight gain for growing birds. Birds can look depressed and eventually if the infestation is heavy, they can die.
    Gizzard Worm -Young geese lose condition, stop putting on weight and start to lose weight. They will eventually waste away if left untreated.
    Tape Worms-Diarrhea and weight loss. Death can occur with large infestations.
    Caecal Worms-None. Birds will carry caecal worms without showing any ill-effects.