1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

The Coop - To Heat, or Not to Heat?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by BekkiH, Nov 25, 2012.

1. BekkiH

BekkiH Out Of The Brooder

Oct 2, 2012
    I have six 3-week-old chicks who will be moving into the coop in a few weeks. This is my first time owning chickens, so I'm very inexperienced.

My biggest concern is the cold weather. I live in the lower part of Upstate NY. We have cold winters, but we're not looking at 20 below or anything like that.

The coop we bought (but have not yet assembled) houses 6 chickens, which is exactly what I have. So they will be nice and snug inside.

Right now, they are living in a dog crate brooder in the basement with an EcoGlow for warmth. They are doing OK with the cooler basement temps right now, and spend a lot of time playing, rather than just living under the heat. I'm hoping that will help them acclimate to the cooler weather.

I'm just really torn on whether or not to heat the coop. I know that it is better to leave it alone. They generate their own heat, and huddle together. Plus chickens who are not used to weathering the cold nights are in big trouble if the power goes out (though we do have a generator).

I'm just terrified of putting young chickens out there and seeing them freeze! I don't even know how or what kind of heat we would install if we did.

Any suggestions? I am leaning towards NOT putting heat in the coop if I can do it safely. What are the recommendations for making sure the chickens can keep themselves warm?

Thanks!

2. groundpecker

groundpecker Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 26, 2011
    Rison, Arkansas