The fortresses is finally complete!

David885

In the Brooder
Apr 19, 2018
Phoenix, Arizona
I know it doesn’t look as fancy as some of the amazing builds I see here on BYC but it is my first build, and I have zero wood working experience.

I am very proud of it because, with the exception of the screws, locking hardware and a couple of bags of concrete; it is constructed entirely of recycled materials.

All of the wood is cull lumber from the scrap pile and the screens are from my neighbor’s window that he was going to throw out. The “back wall” is even made from my son’s old bunk bed that he outgrew.
F994A448-F47C-4635-A7D7-136748BD4541.jpeg

Please let me know if anyone has any tips for improvement / predator proofing.

Thank you!

Well the plastic fencing will only keep the birds inside and not do anything to keep a predator out. It does provide really good ventilation though.

Is the coop inside a building?

Add your location to your profile so we know your weather conditions.

JT

I love the repurpose sing idea and it looks awesome . Much nicer than my repurposed coops. But @jthornton Has a good question. Is it inside a building or a secure run? Because that will depend on what you would need to do to predator proof. If it is that coop alone there are things you could add to what you have. Excellent job!

View attachment 1399392
Well the plastic fencing will only keep the birds inside and not do anything to keep a predator out. It does provide really good ventilation though.

Is the coop inside a building?

Add your location to your profile so we know your weather conditions.

JT

The plastic fencing is what I was worried about as well. My primary concern is to keep my Wife’s “evil” dog and neighborhood cats out of the coop. I have never seen a snake or cyote in 5 years of living here, but there is an owl that frequents the area at night.